Waking Up

“Thank you for raising your Son from the dead, and for raising us from sleep every morning.”

This sentence rocked me this morning.

Every couple of days, my roommate and I start the day by praying through a Psalm. This morning we were reading and praying through Psalm 3.

1 Lord, how many are my foes!
    How many rise up against me!17453399_1238843922899949_398781119_o
Many are saying of me,
    “God will not deliver him.”

But you, Lord, are a shield around me,
    my glory, the One who lifts my head high.
I call out to the Lord,
    and he answers me from his holy mountain.

I lie down and sleep;
    I wake again, because the Lord sustains me.
I will not fear though tens of thousands
    assail me on every side.

Arise, Lord!
    Deliver me, my God!
Strike all my enemies on the jaw;
    break the teeth of the wicked.

From the Lord comes deliverance.
    May your blessing be on your people.

 – Psalm 3

I love verses three through five of this Psalm. Despite being surrounded by foes who are proclaiming that David will not find salvation or rescue in God, we see a declaration of who God is out of the lips of this king who was running from his own son.

David proclaims what we know to be true about God.

  • God is our Lord – He is in control of all things, from the microscopic to the cosmic. If He is Lord, He is worthy of having dominion over every aspect of our lives.
  • God is the shield about us – in the face of many foes and attacks of the enemy of our souls, He protects us from harm
  • God is our glory – ultimately everything we do in life should be for the praise of His Name. May he be glorified in the everyday matters of our lives
  • God is the lifter of our heads – I love this one. God doesn’t let us stay discouraged or remain in the mire and the muck of our sin. He lifts up our head.

What is more beautiful is the fact that God answers the cries of our hearts. Not only does He answer them, but He answers them from His holy mountain. It is important to remember Jesus Christ in this. God is holy, and God resides in holiness. But because of Christ, we can approach God even as He resides in holiness. Our unholiness is paid for by the blood of Jesus on the cross, and the holiness of Jesus has been imparted to us.

Then comes verse five. It was in response to this verse that Matt made the incredible statement quoted above.

I lay down and slept; I woke again, for the Lord sustains me. – Psalm 3:5

Every day is a gift. It’s easy to type those words out and not let them impact my thoughts, motives, and actions heading into each day. But that doesn’t make them any less true. In the case of David, waking each day was proof that God was protecting and sustaining him. Although the vast majority of us reading these words are not running for our lives, our waking each morning is no less an example of God’s grace poured out on us.

Each day my eyes flutter open is God choosing to give me another day to glorify His Name. Each day my eyes flutter open is an opportunity to reflect on the gospel.

“Thank you for raising your Son from the dead, and for raising us from sleep every morning.”

My prayer and hope is that the gospel of Jesus Christ will saturate into every aspect and activity in my life. My prayer and hope is that the good news of Jesus’ death and resurrection would become the reflection of my heart and mind at all times.

That being said, what a beautiful way to start the day. What a beautiful way to begin a Monday morning.

What if when we first woke up we took the time to thank God for raising us from sleep by His grace, grace that is given to us only because God the Father chose to raise Jesus from death?

Can you imagine the impact that would have on our days?

Two of my biggest struggles go hand-in-hand: anger and ingratitude.

Both of these are put to rest with the gospel. Anger and ingratitude have no place in the heart of a man or woman who truly comprehend and meditate upon all that is found in the resurrection of Jesus Christ.

Let’s allow the gospel to impact everything we do.

Let’s start with beginning our days by giving thanks.

Thank you God for raising your Son from the dead, and for raising us from sleep every morning.

In His Name,

Nathan Roach

I appreciate any and all feedback, and you can follow my blog via the menu.

Leave a Reply

